Copper is Rad


I just wanted to pop over here and give an update on the progress I have made with my copper experimenting. As I said last week, the ammonia method of forcing it to patina won out over the vinegar and salt in color and durability. I also mentioned the fact that I thought there were changes I could make to get better results. I was right.

I didn’t get many process photos because I posted a bunch last week and I basically did the same thing. One thing I did do differently was to sand my copper more thoroughly in preparation for the patina process. I am pretty sure that the copper I am using as some sort of coating on it to slow oxidation as it is flashing for a roofs; I don’t think I got all of that off with my first experiment. The other thing I did was to apply water to the surface with a spray bottle on a fine mist. This gives the salt something to stick to… last time I ran it under the faucet real quick and didn’t have even coverage.
I was also right about the salt. I went and purchased regular table salt and a salt shaker for my studio. I was able to get a good, even layer on the copper this way.

These changes resulted in a much nicer and more consistent patina.

DSCN2036

I used this piece of copper for the cover of an altered book I will be using for a round robin I am participating in. I did this because I wanted to figure out how I will be attaching and treating the copper plates on the books I am using for the Grimm’s Fairytales series I will be working on this summer. I think I will do a couple of things differently but all in all, this book turned out just the way I wanted it to.

DSCN2035DSCN2040DSCN2045

One quick announcement before I go. I have decided to close my Etsy shop. I will be using it for holiday sales and special promotions only now, and will always announce those occasions here. I don’t make many sales there. In fact, I have renewed my items for sale twice since my last sale. The few sales I get there just aren’t worth paying the listing fees and fussing with advertising.

I will be focusing on building inventory for craft shows, art fairs, and trunk shows. I really feel like a lot is missed when my work can only be seen in photographs. One of the best features of my work is the texture I create and that just doesn’t translate well in a flattened image. I am looking forward to really focusing on creating new and exciting things instead of fussing with Etsy. I will keep you all updated on where you can meet me in person and buy some of my art.

I do have one problem with all of this. My studio is full of stuff that I need to clear out if I am going to have enough room to get any serious work done this summer. This weekend I will be listing ton of stuff for sale on Ebay so that I can make some room and hopefully make a little extra art supply money. I will announce that sale here next week with some preview photos of what you can expect to find on Ebay.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment